Trachten Receives Prestigious Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award

by Robyn Teplitzky
Federation Senior Development Consultant

Imagine the impact of a room of 1,200 Jewish women from around the world can
make! Eleven Lions from Greater New Haven; Judy Alperin, Linda Caplan. Amy
Holtz, Betsy Hoos, Marcia Reiter, Dana Schwartz, Judy Skolnick, Lisa Stanger,
Robyn Teplitzky, Stacey Trachten and Jody Ellant, participated at the Jewish
Federation of North America International Lion of Judah conference recently in
Hallandale, Florida.

The Lions of Judah are comprised of the most dynamic philanthropic Jewish
women in the world. It is an international sisterhood of thousands of global
activists who care deeply about the Jewish future and play a vital role in creating
social justice, aiding the vulnerable, preserving human dignity and building Jewi
s h identity.

Women philanthropists, who are dedicated to the Jewish community, contribute
time and resources by committing an annual leadership gift to the Jewish Federation.
In addition, Lion of Judah donors are encouraged to endow their philanthropy
by establishing a LOJE (Lion of Judah Endowment gift.) A total of $36
million for the Women’s Philanthropy annual fund was raised by the conference
p articipants.

Every two years, Lions gather for three phenomenal days of extraordinary learning,
sharing and celebration. Participants are inspired by others and learn from
the world’s leading experts in the fields of religion, culture, art, business and
politics. Presenters included Rabbi Elka Abramson of The Wexner Foundation,
Alison Lebovitz, host of “The A List,” Olympian and gymnast, Aly Raisman, and Sivan
Ya’ari, Founder and CEO of Innovation Africa, an Israeli organization bringing
clean water, solar energy and agricultural innovations to rural African villages.

At each international conference, Women’s Philanthropy honors one exceptional
leader from their community. This year, New Haven was thrilled to celebrate Sta cey
Trachten as the recipient of the prestigious Kipnis- Wilson/Friedland Award.

Since 2004, the Kipnis- Wilson/Friedland Award has honored extraordinary
women who have set a high standard for philanthropy and volunteerism. The
prestigious, internationally recognized award is given to Lions of Judah who have
demonstrated the highest ideals of leadership and involvement. Winners are
chosen by their communities as “women of valor” with a lifetime of commitment

Subscribe to posts